Top 5 (7)

JefftrelBooks Logo (10) (top 5)

I’m a pop culture nerd. I have never hidden that fact. And the biggest part of my nerdom is movies. So I figured it was time to discuss my favorite all time movies. There won’t be an honorary mentions for this. Why? Because there will be a secondary one giving you the 6-10 movies as well. Maybe even 11-15 if it’s popular enough. So here we go. My all time top five movies:

5) Swingers – One thing that you will notice about all my favorite movies is they have killer soundtracks. Starting with Swingers which is very swing music heavy. From Big Bad Voodoo Daddy to Dean Martin, the soundtrack is awesome. Then you have the movie itself. Jon Favreau and Vince Vaughn lead the cast. Favreau is down on his luck, Vince Vaughn is on top of the heap, or so we are led to believe. The two main characters are best friends but polar opposites. It was written by Favreau as well. I think that gave him so much more insight into the character of Mike than if he didn’t write it himself. If you haven’t seen it, you gotta check it out!

4) Almost Famous – What happens if you take a high school kid who claims to be a Rolling Stones reporter and send him out on the road with a rock and roll band in the 1970’s? You get Cameron Crowe’s Untitled. Well, that’s what he wanted the movie to be called. Instead it’s Almost Famous. There’s a lot of people in this movie that weren’t quite as famous as they are now. Everyone from Modern Family’s Eric Stonestreet to Big Bang Theory’s Kevin Sussman to Marc Maron and even NCIS’s Pauley Perrette. That doesn’t even Kate Hudson, Jason Lee, the late great Phillip Seymour Hoffman, Anna Paquin or Zoey Deschanel. Or Frances McDormand. Or Billy Crudup. And again, an incredible soundtrack put together by Crowe’s wife, Ann Wilson of the band Heart. I will tell you one scene ruined a great song for me. Because I can’t think of Tiny Dancer by Elton John without thinking of the bus scene.

3) Back To The Future – Where do I begin with my love for Back to The Future? To give you an idea of how much I love this movie, it is actually my all time favorite trilogy of all time. Even more than something about wars in the stars. More on that a little bit later. Every performance is awesome. It centers on the odd pairing of a young high school student who dreams of rock stardom and a nutty old scientist. In an effort to save his friend Doc Brown, Marty accidentally travels back in time to the year 1955. The time machine is broken and they don’t have the spare parts needed to fix it. Along the way, Marty changes history by saving his father, but in doing so his mother falls in love with him instead of his father. Rut Roh Raggy! Add in one of the greatest bullies of all time Biff Tannen and you have an awesome thrill ride

2) Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back – I’m always torn between Episode 4 and Episode 5 as my favorite. But right now I’m leaning towards 5. It had the greatest twist in movie history. The action sequences were thrilling with multiple fights happening in various arenas. It had Boba Fett. It didn’t have giant Teddy Bears taking down an army of clones. It gave us a lot about a lovable green jedi master. What’s not to love?

  1. Clerks. One of the greatest compliments I ever got as a writer was being told I write like Kevin Smith, if I swore more in my books. Now that was before The Time Traveler’s Journal which took me level of swearing to another level. But that’s another story. I remember the first time I watched Clerks. It was ironic because I was a convenience store clerk when I saw it and a friend of mine was working at a video store. Carmine was playing it in the store and I sat behind the counter and enjoyed the movie so much I rented it on the spot and went home and watched it a second time. My favorite character in the View Askew Universe was Randal. I even have a nametag from an old job with his name on it.

Well there you have it. Look for a future update on movies 6-10 as well. Thanks for reading. Have a good one everybody!

Leave a Reply

