Top 5 (4)

JefftrelBooks Logo (10) (top 5)

Welcome back for another top 5 list from me! This one is going to be a little bit different. Why? Because I wanted to be different. That’s why!

Everyone has their favorite era of music. Well, we will take a look at my top 5 decades of music. Which will of course then inspire a lot more music top 5’s as well. I have several in mind for future blogs as well.

Honorary Mention: 1950s

5. 2000s. The music from 2000-2009 had it’s moments. Songs like Empire State Of Mind by Jay-Z, Kryptonite from Three Doors Down, Clocks by Coldplay as well as the tail end of the bubblegum pop era of Britney, Nsync and Back Street Boys and of course 98 Degrees. All these songs can be found on heavy rotation on my Itunes and Last.FM scrobbles. Okay, maybe not Britney.

4. 60s. 1960-1969 featured a lot of great music. Music from legendary acts like The Beatles, The Rolling Stones, The Temptations, The Monkees, Creedence Clearwater Revival and Jimi Hendrix, just to name a few.

3. 90s. What did 1990-1999 have to offer you as far as music goes? The better question is what didn’t it have to offer you! Grunge? Started in the 90’s with Nirvana, Pearl Jam, Stone Temple Pilots, etc. Love songs? How about some Boyz-II-Men or Mariah Carey? Metal? Duh, Metallica. Did you like big butts and you can not lie? Well there’s a song just for you! Music to make you think? Well, there was R.E.M.’s biggest hits for that. Did you want to dance in the 90’s? You could since Rhythm was a dancer. Or you could Vogue. And that’s just the start of it!

2. 70s. Three of my all time favorite musical acts hit it big from 1970-1979. I’m of course talking about Queen, Aerosmith and Billy Joel. If that wasn’t enough, you had Sir Elton John, The Bee Gees, Led Zepplin, David Bowie,  Pink Floyd, Carly Simon, Diana Ross, Blondie, The Eagles, The Stones were still around, KC and The Sunshine Band. Again, just the tip of the musical iceberg.

Now, before we get to # 1 on the list… you will notice that music from the 2010’s is nowhere to be found. I mean, it doesn’t even get an honorary mention. That’s because most of music of today sucks. I said most. There’s some decent stuff out there. Not much. It certainly was not…. THE 1980’s!

1.80s. What more do I have to say other than…. Michael Jackson, Bruce Springsteen, Madonna, Prince, Whitney Houston, The Police, The Cars, Foreigner, Phil Collins, Bon Jovi, Weird Al Yankovic,  Guns-N-Roses, Cyndi Lauper, REO Speedwagon. I could go on. I could also go on with the great one hit wonders that came out of the 1980’s. But that’s going to be a top 5 all to itself in the future, so I don’t want to spoil it.

So tell me? Do you agree with me? Do you disagree? What would you like to see me do a top 5 for in the future? Just drop me an email at Jefftrel@gmail.com and let me.

Leave a Reply

