Excerpt From Anthology

JefftrelBooks Logo (10)

Welcome back to the Blog. Hope you had a good Monday.

So you’ve seen me talking about the Anthology that I contributed a story to called Twisted & Sinful Stories. I thought now would be a good time to give you a little taste to my story.

As I’ve mentioned, I contributed Paranormal Contact 2.5 to the story. It picks up right where PC Vol. 2 leaves off with Shawn and Brad remaining behind to explore more of St. Augustine. These are two characters that I never really got to dig more. so this gave me the opportunity to do that. So here you go, here’s a scene from Paranormal Contact Vol. 2.5 available now as part of Twisted & Sinful Stories:

******

The sun had set. Slowly the street lights were flickering on in the parking lot. Shawn and Brad exited out of the lobby of the hotel. They walked quickly through town. A few minutes later, they arrived in front of a cemetery.

Brad leaned forward, his hands grasping the cold fence. Shawn stood with his back to the cemetery and his arms folded. “Hi James. Do you remember us?” Brad asked. He stood in silence as he waited for an answer. There wasn’t one. “We came by with our friends earlier this morning. They left you a gift earlier in the week. We just wanted to check in on you. To see if you were still enjoying the ball.” Brad glanced over at Shawn who just stared off into the distance. “Come on. Say something.” Brad gently nudged Shawn.

“I don’t want to,” Shawn responded back. “I told you that you’re more than welcome to talk to dead children. I’m good not to.”

“So when you’re picking what we’re doing tomorrow, it’s okay if I just act like a little bitch then? I’ll go along but I won’t actually do anything? I mean if it’s okay for you to act like that….”

“Ghost kids scare the shit out of me. Okay. There. I said it,” Shawn blurted out. “Nothing about the paranormal scares me. Nothing except this!”

Brad raised his eyebrows in a quizzically gesture. “Really? What about dead kids scare you?” Both of them let out a small laugh. “Okay. I think I just answered my own question. But come on Shawn. If you can deal with demons possessing your friend, I think that you’ll be okay with a small child who died hundred years ago.”

Shawn reluctantly turned around to face the graves. “Why are you buried so far away from everyone else? Is that why you’re the only one who is said to haunt here?” Suddenly the wind started to pick up. Both Shawn and Brad looked at each other.

“Keep going,” Brad encouraged. His eyes scanned the darkness of the cemetery.

“That’s it, isn’t it? That’s why you haunt here. You’re lonely?” Shawn said, his voice a little louder than before. “I don’t blame you, little guy. If I was so far away from everyone else, I’d probably get lonely myself too.” The wind once again howled. Brad looked up and saw the branch over James’ grave start to sway. Brad pointed above the grave to the branch. “It must be tough. Plus everyone else around here is an adult. You were… errr, you are still just a kid. I’m really sorry.” A soft bang echoed near the foot of the tree to their right. Both of them looked over in that direction. Shawn leaned over to Brad. “I’m going to keep going. You go see what that was?” Brad nodded his head.  In just a few long strides, Brad was standing near the tree on the other side. “I’m sure Jason, Greg, Tanya and Katie aren’t your only visitors though. Am I right?”

Brad reached into his pocket and pulled out a flashlight. He turned it and aimed it at the tree. He moved it around from side to side, searching every level of the tree. The wind was starting to slow down.

Shawn started to hear footsteps. He glanced over to his right side, expecting to see Brad coming closer. Instead he saw Brad was still on the other side near the tree. All of a sudden, he felt hands grasping his back as he jolted forward. Shawn let out a soft shout. He turned quickly to his left.

“I thought I recognized you. Brad right?” Steve Tango said. His voice was slurred. Shawn could smell alcohol on his breath.

“What the fuck man?” Shawn said as he pushed Steve back.

“Relax, I was only kidding. No need to get all pissy on me.” Steve responded. By now Brad had come back over to Shawn. “Wait? You’re Brad? Right?” Steve shook his head.

“Yeah, I’m Brad. He’s Shawn. You’re Steve,” Brad responded with a grin. “Now that we got everyone’s names down, what are you doing here?”

“I was just passing by and I saw your friend here. I was only playing around but he’s in a bad mood,” Steve’s speech was more slurred.

“Playing around my ass. You assaulted me.”

“Come on. Really? What are you gonna do? You gonna press charges on me?”

Shawn stepped forward, closing the gap between himself and Steve. His fist was balled up. “I don’t need to press charges when I can press my fist to your face…” Brad extended his arms between the two, pushing the two of them away from each other.

“There’s no need for pressing charges or pressing fists to face,” Brad said. He stood between the two of them.

“I don’t need this. Dude, you need to chill. I’m out of here.” Steve growled. He turned his back to Shawn. Shawn took a step towards Steve, but Brad grabbed his shirt and pulled him back. Steve disappeared into the night.

“I could have totally kicked his ass and you know it,” Shawn said.

“I know you could have. It’s not worth it. Plus I don’t have bail money to get you out of jail,” joked Brad. Shawn didn’t even crack a smile.

In the distance Steve screamed “You’re an asshole!” Shawn once again tried to go after him.

“Come on Shawn. He’s drunk. I’ve seen you get pretty aggressive when you were drunk too. Let it go.”

Shawn took a deep breath. “Yeah whatever.” There was a pause between the two of them. “I’ll tell you this. He came within a few seconds of getting his teeth knocked out. First when he pushed me from behind and just now.” Brad nodded his head. “Come on. Let’s get out of here. Before I change my mind about going after him. “What else do you have in mind?”

********

To purchase your copy, click here! And of course Have a good one everybody!

//pulseadnetwork.com/pix.html

Leave a Reply

