A Katie Christmas Part 2

JefftrelBooks Logo (10) Holiday

Before we go any further in the story, if you haven’t read Paranormal Contact Vol. 2…. BE AWARE. THERE ARE SPOILERS contained in the short story.

And if you haven’t read part 1 of the story, you can find it right here: https://jefftrelbooks.wordpress.com/2015/12/15/a-katie-christmas-part-1-mini-story/

_____________________________________________________

“What am I going to do with this?” she whispered to herself. She heard a noise behind her. She turned around quickly. “I thought you fell in….” But instead of it being Denise, she saw Morty. He was now wearing a novelty Christmas tree hat with mistletoe on top of the tree. “You look absolutely ridiculous Don.”

“It’s Mort…”

“I know what you think people should call you. That doesn’t mean for a second that I’m going to call you it. Are we clear?” Katie said assertively.

Morty took a step back, throwing his hands up. “Sorry Katie.” He gestured to his hat. “It is tradition though. You know what you have to do.”

Katie backhanded the hat off his head. It fell to the floor. “You have got to be kidding. First off, I am seeing someone. You know that. Secondly, even if I wasn’t there would still be no chance of me following that tradition with you. So you need to back off before I do something that we both will regret. Okay?” Katie shouted.

“Wow, I was uh only kidding,” Morty reached down and grabbed his hat off the floor.

“No you weren’t. And you know it,” She retorted back to him. Morty quickly left through the door behind her. “No chance that would ever happen. I’d rather gauge my eyes out with a rusty pitch fork.”

“What did I miss?” Denise asked as she appeared from the door.

“Morty. Mistletoe. Enough said,” Katie grinned.

“Oh no. Doesn’t he know about Greg?”

“He does. He just didn’t care. If he does that again, I will castrate him.” Both women laughed. “Well now that you’re here… I guess I’m going to go.” Katie said quietly.

“Thanks for watching the desk for me,” Denise said. Katie waved her hand. She crossed to the other side of the desk and walked down the hallway. “Wait? The party’s not that way. Where are you going Katie?”

Katie didn’t answer. She continued walking down the hallway. She reached into her pocket and pulled out an electronic key. Katie glanced over her shoulder to make sure no one was behind her. She slipped the key into the door. With a loud click, the door opened and Katie stepped inside.

 

Katie walked in the middle of the room. It felt a little bit colder than the rest of the rooms. Katie sat down on the bed.

“Hi Rebecca,” Katie whispered. “I… I guess I’m just checking in on you. I really don’t know if ghosts celebrate Christmas or not.” Katie looked around the room. “I know you usually come out when two people are doing it. Well, I have no one to do it with.  I just hope that you’re still here. Or else it would just be me talking to myself.” Katie chuckled to herself. “Like a crazy person.” Katie pulled the small box that was in her pocket out. “I’m sorry that you never got one of these. You probably deserve getting one of these more than I do.” Katie dropped her head and stared at the floor. A chill ran through her body. Katie instantly looked around the room but was disappointed. “What should I do?” Katie sat quietly. “It’s Christmas Eve and I’m in a hotel room talking to a ghost….” Katie grinned to herself. “You could be a Christmas spirit if you showed yourself?”

Katie opened the box and stared the sparkling ring. She took a deep breath as she wrapped her fingers around it and pulled it from the box. She examined it closely before sliding it on her left index finger. Another deep breath followed. “It does look good on me though. That’s for sure,” she whispered to herself.

Without any hesitation Katie reached into her other pocket and pulled out her cellphone. She pressed a few buttons and brought the phone up to her ear. The phone rang twice before someone picked it up.

“Hi Katie, we were just talking about you,” Greg said from the other side of the phone.

“All good things, right?”

“Of course. I only have good things to say about you.”

Katie smiled at his words. “I just wanted to say that I was thinking about you and that I miss you.”

“I miss you too Katie. I know I will see you soon,” Greg’s voice said.

“I hope so. I just wanted to say Merry Christmas.”

“Merry Christmas Katie,” he responded back.

“I know you’re at your parents right now, I just wanted to let you know that I am wearing…. it. I just wanted to see how it looked on my hand.” There was silence on the other end of the line. “Greg? Are you still there?”

“I’m here. I’m just glad that you put it on. What do you think?”

“I think it’s beautiful. I miss you. I will talk to you tomorrow?”

“Of course you will,” Greg responded. She smiled as she hung up the phone and slipped it back in her pocket. She made her way back to the bed and looked around. “I could have sworn I left the box here on the bed….?” Katie looked around nervously. “Rebecca? Did you take my ring box?” She fell to her knees and looked under the bed. The box was nowhere to be see. Katie frowned as she slipped the ring back into her pocket. She walked towards the door when she noticed a small ring box in front of the door. She grinned as she picked it up and left the room.

____________________________________________________

Merry Christmas everybody. I hope that you, your family and your friends all have the most wonderful holiday. Be safe!

Leave a Reply

