A Katie Christmas Part 1- Mini-Story

JefftrelBooks Logo (10) Holiday

Good Tuesday Morning. Hope you’re feeling better than I am these days! Oh well. With the holidays fast approaching, I thought it would be fun to visit some old friends and see how they celebrate this Christmas. So I give you the first mini-story of the season. If you like Paranormal Contact Vol 1, you will know most of the characters in this story. Part 2 will be later in the week:

__________________________________________________

A small boom box was set up on a table in the middle of the room. The table cloth was green and red. The song “Run Run Rudolph” played loudly. All around the room were Christmas decorations. The room was full of people celebrating. From the crowd, Dave Logan emerged. He walked to the boom box and lowered the volume. In his hand he held a plastic glass with white wine in it.

“If I could have everyone’s attention for just a moment, and then we will get back to the celebrating,” he shouted. The crowd slowly began to stop talking. Dave looked around the room until it was completely silent. “I just wanted to take this moment and thank all of you. Everyone here has done a wonderful job this year. In fact, I just ran the numbers for the year a little while ago. The Tuckerton Bed and Breakfast had its best year on record!” The twenty six people in attendance all shouted. “And that’s thanks to the hard work of everyone here today!”

“Does that mean we get a raise?” a male’s voice from the back of the room shouted out.

Dave chuckled and shook his head. “Nice try. But I think that I pay you well as it is.” Dave looked around the room. “I just wanted to say thank you for all that you do. The only reason why there’s a Tuckerton B & B is because of all of you. Now somebody pass the egg nog!” Dave grinned. He turned around and turned the boom box up.

The crowd began to talk loudly again. Dave made his way around the room shaking people’s hands. From across the room, Donald Morton pushed his way through the crowd to make his way over to Dave.

“Great speech boss man,” Donald laughed. His laugh was loud and obnoxious. He was in his late thirties, but his hair was already starting to recede.

“Thanks Donald.” Dave responded.

“What did I tell you? You can call me Morty!”

“And what did I tell you I would do if you interrupted my speech Donald… Morty?”

Morty felt his cheeks redden. “You’d stop scheduling me so often….”

“That’s right,” Dave grinned. “Have you seen Katie lately?” Dave looked around the room.

Morty shrugged his shoulders. “The last time I saw her she was hanging out at the front desk.”

“Thanks Morty. Just for that I won’t punish you for the interruption,” Dave grinned. “Enjoy the party.” Dave patted him on the shoulder as he walked past him. He made his way through the crowd to the front door of the conference room.

Dave walked down the hallway past his office and the bathrooms. He tapped on the door before gently pushing it open. He found Katie sitting behind the counter.

“Hey Dave,” Katie said. Her voice was soft.

“What are you doing out here? You’re not on the clock today,” Dave said. His eyes glanced around the empty lobby.

Katie began to stutter. “Um, Denise had to use the bathroom. So there was no one to cover the desk. I said that I would cover for her…”

“Liar.”

Katie shrugged her shoulder. “I hate how well you know me sometimes.”

“So tell me what’s going on?”

Katie took a deep breath. “I just don’t really feel like celebrating. That’s all.” Dave stared at her. “What? That’s the truth. I’m not feeling very festive.” Dave didn’t say a word, just stared at her. “I miss Greg. There! I said it! Are you happy? Damn you’re so pushy!”

“Long distance relationships are difficult, I would imagine. But you know that if it’s meant to be, you two will find a way.”

“When did you become a walking Hallmark card?” Katie playfully swatted his shoulder.

“I’m just trying to help. You know that,” Dave responded with a sympathetic smile.

“I know,” Katie looked at him in silence. “You should probably go back in there. It’s your party,” she gestured to the door.

“Hope to see you back in there Katie,” he responded. With that he was gone.

To Be Continued

Leave a Reply

