Two Scenes and a Writer’s Block

Happy Monday afternoon! I’m struggling with a bit of writer’s block but it could be temporary. It may be based off on something I think SHOULD happen as opposed to something that needs to happen to further the action. Basically, what I’m saying is that I’m battling it unnecessarily. Hopefully by tomorrow I will decide what to do. I’m so close to the end that I can almost taste it. It’s a totally satisfying feeling. Much better than that the ice cream I had earlier for lunch. Though it was good ice cream. Don’t get me wrong 🙂

In the mean time I’m here to give you not one but two scenes! The first scene is a short one. It takes place between two of the newer characters Aaron and Miranda.

Aaron stood hunched over the fence by the lighthouse. The sun was out, but there was some dark clouds approaching quickly. He peered over the fence listening to the waves crash into the shore down below. Miranda appeared from the gift shop. She made her way through a few tourists to Aaron.
She tapped him lightly on the shoulder. He didn’t react. “There you are. Steve has been calling and texting you for the last hour.” He continued to stare off. “Are you okay?”
“I’m fine Miranda,” Aaron said coldly.
“We will find out what’s going on here. I promised you that. Didn’t I?”
Aaron turned around and leaned his back against the fence. “Yeah, you promised me that. Two years ago you promised me. And we are no close to solving this case then we were that day.”
“You don’t think it’s something that there have been more and more sightings lately?”
Aaron shook his head. “It doesn’t matter if there are more sightings if we can’t do something about it. I want to get to the bottom of it.”
“I know you do. We all do,” Miranda said. Aaron started to say something but Miranda interrupted him. “No one more than you Alex do. I know.”
“What does Steve want?”
“We’ve got a case tonight. He wanted to talk to you about it.”
“No. I’m not going anywhere. Ask Alex if he wants to fill in again. I want to stay here and figure this out. The longer we ignore it, the further we are from solving it.”
“You know you are becoming obsessed with this, right?”
Aaron glared at her. His head moved slightly in a disagreeing fashion. “I’m not obsessed. I have told you a thousand times that I just want to get to the bottom of this. More than anything, I want to know why one of those three girls just can’t rest like the other two could. It always only one of them. Why?”
Miranda was taken aback by his reaction. Aaron’s eyes squinted as his body tightened. “I… I don’t know Aaron. But there has to be a good reason. And together we can figure it out. But you aren’t going to be able to figure it out if you think about only that. And you fucking know it!” Miranda took a step away from him. He turned his back to her, glancing once again over the cliffs. “Just think about it. Nothing against your brother. But he’s not half the ghost hunter that you are, Aaron.”

___________________________________________________________________________________________

The second scene is between Katie and Greg. They are in a new relationship however as we all know new relationships can prove to be a little rocky at times. There’s definitely more conflict in Volume 2 then there was in Volume 1. And because it’s about relationships, the conflict is more personal. I hope you will enjoy this:

Katie and Greg walked out hand in hand of the hotel lobby. They stopped out on the sidewalk.
“Where would you like to go?” Greg asked. She smiled at him and put her head on his shoulder.
“I want to go talk to Harry. I want to see if that’s what he wanted us to see,” Katie replied. She glanced up and stared Greg in the eyes. She gave him a soft peck on the lips.
“Jason and I walked through the store today. Harry had the day off.  I met his daughter though. She is just as nice though,” Greg responded.
“Damn. I mean I think then we should go back there. Let’s see if we can find something else. I know what I saw.”
Greg nodded his head. They took three steps down the sidewalk when Greg’s cellphone rang. He stopped walking and reached into his pocket. He sighed heavily as he looked at the name on the screen. Greg picked up the phone.
“What is it, Lisa?” he asked. At first there was silence. Then he heard crying. “Lisa? Are you okay?” he asked again. There was more crying. “Lisa? Why are you crying?” Katie craned her head to look at Greg with a concerned look on her face.
“Tom… Tom…”, Lisa’s voice said over the phone. “He’s been cheating on me,” she said between loud sobs.
“What? How do you know?” Greg asked. His eyebrows furrowed. There was more sobbing in his ear. He took the phone away from his ear for a moment.
“I. I came in and he was in bed with some floosy. That asshole’s been cheating on me!” She screamed into the phone. “Can you fucking believe it?”
Greg shook his head. “Sucks when you find out someone you love doesn’t give a fuck about your heart. Doesn’t it?”
“Yes! It fucking sucks,” Lisa responded. “How would you know how that feels?”
Greg fumbled with the phone. It fell from his hand but he was able to catch it. He brought it back up this his ear. “You can’t honestly be serious right now?”
“I am,” Lisa continued to cry. “I don’t know when that happened to you.”
“Fuck you Lisa. Fuck you. How about that? How about when you cheated on me with Tom? Could that possibly be when?” Greg screamed into the phone. “I wish I could say that I’m sorry that Tom cheated on you. But you know what? You fucking deserve it. How about that?”
“How long are you going to hold that against me? I need you Greg. When are you coming back home? I need to see you.”
“I will hold that against you until the day I die. Goodbye, Lisa.” Greg hung up the phone quickly. His fist was clenched tight as he put his cellphone back in his pocket with the other hand.
“I’d ask if everything is okay, but judging by your reaction I already know the answer to that,” Katie said. She tried to snuggle against him.
“Can you believe she had the nerve to ask when someone cheated on me? What the hell is wrong with her?” Greg said. He began to pace back and forth.
“You know more than anyone just what a selfish bitch your ex-wife is. That’s why she is your ex-wife.” She watched him walk back and forth. “Why did she call you?”
“I have no idea. Probably because she has no friends?” Greg shrugged. A tear formed in his right eye which he quickly swept away.
“But from what I understand she hates you. She doesn’t consider you a friend. Doesn’t she insult you every chance that she gets?”
“Yeah?”
“So again, I have to ask. Why did she call you?”
“I honestly have no idea why she called me…” Greg’s voice trailed.
Katie bit down on her lip as she thought to herself in silence. “You don’t think she wants you back, do you?”
Greg stopped pacing. He looked up at her. “It doesn’t matter if she wants me back.”
She walked up to him. “Why’s that?”
“Because I hate that bitch. I hate her for everything she has ever done to me. That’s why,” Greg said coldly.
“I want to believe you. But I know there’s too much history there. I have you here with me now, but when you go back….” Katie turned her back to him. It was her turn now to wipe a tear from her eye. “It just worries me that something will happen between the two of you.”
Greg rushed to her side. “Katie you have nothing to worry about. You make me a thousand times happier than she ever did. Despite our history, as you put it, I realized how miserable I was with her long before I found out she was a cheating whore.”
Katie wrapped her arms around him in a warm embrace. “I hope so Greg.”
2 thoughts on “Two Scenes and a Writer’s Block”

Leave a Reply

