Authors Helping Authors Interview # 5: Dave Rose

Authors Helping Authors Logo 2

Jeff: Today we are sitting down with Dave Rose. Welcome to the Author’s Helping Authors Interview, Dave/ How are you today?

Dave: I’m doing ok, my air conditioner is on the fritz so I’m a bit hot and not feeling up to much. Cooling down now that it has been somewhat fixed.

Jeff: Tell us a little bit about yourself? Maybe something that not a lot of people know about?

Dave: A bit about myself. Don’t know where to start. I do so many things, have a chemistry degree and oddly am still trying to learn my new mind without mourning the old one. I write under another name elsewhere on teh intarwebz. That might be something people don’t know. I guess.

Jeff: Are you working on anything now?

Dave: Yes, I believe I am working on something right now. Or have been working on something, completed it and forgot. But I am working on something to keep me amused in the meantime.

Jeff: How do you define success as a writer?

Dave: I define success as making people happy and making myself happy with what I have done. Throw the stick as far as you can and then work towards the goal in that direction. That often takes me into areas I have never been before. But that’s where I threw the stick. If I get there and it was easy, then I get annoyed with my throw and set the goal further.

Jeff: What piece of advice would you give to someone who is thinking of becoming a writer?

Dave: Be a writer. Write many things. Keep notes for everything and take them frequently. Write what you know and write what you feel strongly about. Don’t just think about becoming it, just do the thing. Even if you suck now, anything you write is a learning experience towards improvement.

Jeff: What do you think is the hardest part of being a writer?

Dave: The above advice.

Jeff: It is good advice indeed! And finally, what would you like to say to your readers?

Dave: I don’t have readers, silly. I just have friends I occasionally amuse.

Jeff: Thank you for your time here today, Dave!

Leave a Reply

