Authors Helping Authors # 4 Anne Bayliss

Authors Helping Authors Logo 2

Jeff: Today we are sitting down with Author Anne Bayliss.
Welcome to the Author’s Helping Authors Interview. How are you today?
Anne: I am doing just great.
Jeff: Tell us a little bit about yourself? Maybe something that not a lot of people know about?
Anne: Well, I have lived in Oregon my entire life. I’m an only child so I’ve always had pets growing up. I think the longest I went without a four-legged companion was nine months. I once had two cats, two dogs and two birds in the house at the same time.
Jeff: What are you working on now?
Anne: I am currently working on a short story that will be posted on an erotic story site.
Jeff: Oh? Very nice. Hehehe. At what point in your life did you decide you were going to become a writer?
Anne: I think I decided I wanted to become a writer when I was in high school. I wrote my first short story in middle school but no one ever read it because I burned it in the fireplace. The first “novel” I tried to write, I started in high school but I never finished it. It’s still unfinished to this day even after re-writing it twiceJeff: Are there any genres you don’t think you would ever write in?
Anne: I don’t think I could ever write horror or science fiction.

Jeff: Do you listen to music when you write or do you need complete silence?

Anne: I guess it all depends. Sometimes I have the radio going or other times I just have to have it quiet to concentrate. I tend to get interrupted when I’m writing, which is why it took me five years to write the novel I finally got brave enough to publish.

Jeff: Worst review you ever gotten?
Anne: I think the worst review I ever got was from a short story that I posted on a web site. I haven’t received one from my novel…yet.

Jeff: Every author has strengths. What do you think your biggest strength is?
Anne: I think my strongest strength is my way with words. When I’m speaking with someone I tend to have difficulties finding the right words but when I’m writing, they just flow right out of my brain and through my fingers and onto my computer screen.

Jeff: Do you only focus on the one book that you’re writing or do you tend to plan for what you will work on after this book is done as well?
Anne: That’s a good question. I actually was working on three different stories at one time. I haven’t thought about my next novel even though I easily left “What Happened in Vegas….” open to a sequel. I have two other ones that I have completed in the past and I’ve been thinking about editing them, possibly even publishing them, but I’m not sure if they are as strong as my first novel.

Jeff: And finally, what would you like to say to your readers?

Anne: I would just like to thank everyone for reading my novel. Some stories tend to write themselves and others take years to get onto paper. It was always a dream of mine to become a published author, so I would also like to tell everyone, never give up on your dreams. One day they may just come true.

Special thanks to Anne for sitting down for this interview. You can pick up her debut novel on Amazon “What Happens in Vegas” right now.

Leave a Reply

