Authors Helping Authors Interview # 3: Keith Olsen

Authors Helping Authors Logo 2

Jeff: Welcome to the Author’s Helping Authors Interview, Keith. How are you today?

Keith: I’m doing all right today.

Jeff: Tell us a little bit about yourself? Maybe something that not a lot of people know about?

Keith: I am currently working two jobs, custodial in the morning and pizza delivery a few days a week in the afternoon. It’s not glamorous, but it gets the bills paid. When I get spare time in the weekends, I volunteer with the 501st Legion as a stormtrooper where we rise donations for charity. I am also starting up my own type of dinosaur petting zoo to entertain at various events.

Jeff: What are you working on now?

Keith: The project I am working on now is a continuation of my Dinoworld series called “Dissonance.” It is the second installment for my “Dawn of Scars” trilogy, but is actually going to be the fourth publication in the world I created. I generally work on two projects at a time, releasing them as they are finished, just to keep my audience satisfied.

Jeff: At what point in your life did you decide you were going to become a writer?

Keith: Originally I wanted to study film since I loved telling stories, but that never worked out. There were too many complications and I could never get anyone to truly back me up on those projects. So, I decided on the next best thing. As I writer I have the freedom to do whatever I want and not be limited by production schedules, casting, sets, props or anything like that. Everything is on the page. In this world of technology, the reader’s imagination is still the most powerful tool at our disposal, and the possibilities are endless.

Jeff: How do you define success as a writer? Have you reached that point yet?

Keith: In reality, my definition of being a successful writer is to have people purchase your works. To create something that people want to read, in any degree, is a success. Of course, it helps to get compliments on your works and that only strives for you to do better. I despise it when people write things that are utter garbage and then have friends or family sign in and give them glowing reviews. I have had my fair share of experiences digging through smut to find good works, but to truly be successful means you are honest about what you do and have something out there people read and enjoy

Jeff: What do you think is the hardest part of being a writer?

Keith: The hardest part of being a writer, for me at least, is finding the time to write and being motivated to do so. Finding the right balance between family and my own world of writing is the most challenging, especially when I reach points in the story where I don’t know how to continue smoothly.

Jeff: And finally, what would advice would you give to new authors?

Keith: Share your work before it is published. I cannot stress enough the importance of beta readers. They will find things that you overlooked or took for granted. Read, edit, re-read and re-edit. You might get sick of reading your own writing, but in the end it will be worth it when you finally get that review from a complete stranger who said they thoroughly enjoyed something you wrote with your own hands. Don’t give up on your dreams. You may spend years and roundabout ways to get there, but never give up.

Jeff: Thank you for your time today Keith. Good luck with your work!

Leave a Reply

