Authors Helping Authors Interview # 2: Bree Kraemer

Authors Helping Authors Logo 2

Welcome back for another Authors Helping Authors Interview. This time I got a chance to sit down with Bree Kraemer.

Jeff:  How are you today?
Bree: I’m doing great.  Thanks for having me.
Jeff: Of course! Tell us a little bit about yourself? Maybe something that not a lot of people know about?
Bree: There’s probably a lot that people don’t know about me. But the big one is most likely that I was a national champion synchronized swimmer at The Ohio State University. Crazy right?   Go Bucks!
Jeff: What are you working on now?
Bree: I am writing two books currently.  Book 4 in The Only Series which is my original genre of Romance.  The second book is a Contemporary Fiction book that will have no romance at all.  It’s a little scary to step out of my comfort zone but I really think that this will be a story that a lot of people will resonate with.
Jeff: At what point in your life did you decide you were going to become a writer?
Bree: I have to thank my husband for that. I have always been a reader. And I read a lot.  A couple of years ago, he mentioned that I should write.  I was all, “Really?  Do you think I can do that?” and he said just try.  So I did and here I am.
Jeff: Which two characters that you have created have been your favorites so far?
Bree: I am in LOVE with Emma.  She was the lead in If Only and I just seriously fell in love with her personality.  The other is my first female lead, Samantha.  She is so strong and the things that she had to go through to get to where she is…Well, I wish I was that strong.
Jeff: How much time in between books do you generally take? Do you finish one and immediately jump into the next or is there a rest period?
Bree: I find that I can’t start a new story until I hit publish on my previous work.  So during the whole editing process, I pretty much don’t write anything new.  I hate it though because I feel like it’s a waste of time.  
Jeff: Worst review you ever gotten?
Bree: I got a 1 star that said the book was so boring and that the ending sucked.  I remember that my friend called me in an outrage and I hadn’t even seen it yet.  
Jeff: What do you think is the hardest part of being a writer?
Bree: Honestly, remembering all the facts about my characters and stories.  I have to keep a notebook of hair colors and personality traits.  It’s ridiculous. 
Jeff: As an author, who are your biggest influences?
Bree: Too many to count.  I started off, years ago reading Nora Roberts and to this day, I will read anything she writes.  But right now I am obsessed with Christina Lauren (It’s 2 authors that co-write) I love them.  Their personalities, their writing. Everything.  I might want to BE them.  If they ever go missing, check my house.
Jeff: I will definitely be sure to alert the authorities in the event either or both of them go missing! And finally, what would you like to say to your readers?
Bree: Just stick with me.  My writing is growing and getting better everyday. Don’t judge a girl by her first book.
Jeff: As a new author myself, I agree. My second book is ten times better than my first book. And the book I’m working on now is even better. Every author learns as he or she grows. Thank you for your time, Bree!
Leave a Reply

