Authors Helping Authors Interview # 1: Jack Crosby

Authors Helping Authors Logo 2

Jeff: Welcome to the Author’s Helping Authors Interview. How are you today?

Jack: I’m doing great, thanks for asking?  How are you doing today Jeff?

Jeff: I’m doing well. Thanks.Tell us a little bit about yourself? Maybe something that not a lot of people know about?

Jack: Well, I’m an IT guy that freelances on my own.  Unfortunately that means I have to travel a lot, so I spend a lot of my free time writing and reading.  I like to think good comes from it though in the form of my books.

Jeff: What are you working on now?

Jack: I’m working on book 3 to the Grimm’s Reapers series.  By working on, I mean I’ve started outlining the plot.  If you’ve read the stories so far, you know a lot of things are coming and none of them are good.

Jeff: At what point in your life did you decide you were going to become a writer?

Jack: You and Jeremy inspired me.  I first read Power Play and then I picked up Everything Comes Full Circle.  I reached out to you two because you seemed like every day guys just like me.  From our conversations, I figured, what the hell, let’s publish a book and see what happens!

Jeff: Which two characters that you have created have been your favorites so far?

Jack: Derrick and Roxanne are my favorites.  They were the first two main characters, so I think they hold a special spot in your heart.  I’m really excited about Roxanne’s future, but that’s all I can say for now!

Jeff: How much time in between books do you generally take? Do you finish one and immediately jump into the next or is there a rest period?

Jack: A few months.  Sometimes it gets hard to wait, because the stories come to me and I just want to write them down.

Jeff: Worst review you ever gotten?

Jack: Someone emailed me and said I write total garbage.  Said that I use sex and violence to sell books and that is hack writing.  Do I use those elements?  Yeah I do.  On the flip side, I challenge that person to really read my books and see that there is also a story there, one that uses a lot of emotions to get reactions from readers.  Especially in Old War Stories…

Jeff: What would you say is your biggest mistake as a writer? Anything you wish you could change?

Jack: That I don’t let anyone else help.  These stories are mine and I don’t want anyone else to influence them but me.  I doubt I’ll ever change that flaw, but if I could, I would.

Jeff: Do you only focus on the one book that you’re writing or do you tend to plan for what you will work on after this book is done as well?

Jack: One book at a time.  I let each story tell itself and then I’ll move on to the next.

Jeff: And finally, what would you like to say to your readers?

Jack: Stay tuned for my best book yet to come this fall.  Let’s just say Hell is about to be unleashed on poor Derrick and this time, he’s got nowhere to go but up!

Thanks for having me Jeff!  This was a lot of fun!

Jeff: Well thanks for being a part of the first Authors Helping Authors Interview. You can come back anytime you want!

Leave a Reply

